Our Aims

To develop further the school curriculum to meet the needs of all pupils regardless of their ability, aptitude or gender. Whilst we are an English medium school we fully embrace Welsh cultural influences throughout the school; encourage global awareness in pupils; continue to improve literacy and numeracy skills.

Our pupils are placed in form groups from the start of Year 7 after careful consultation with our primary colleagues. Guidance is under the care of a Learning Manager for each year group and over seen by the Deputy Head responsible for Services to Pupils. We pride ourselves on the quality of care, support and guidance given to our pupils at all Key Stages. A Learning Mentor is assigned to each year group to support learning.

We constantly review the curriculum that we offer our children so that we can help our learners follow the most appropriate pathway to match their needs and aptitudes. The school curriculum is organised to provide students with a broad and balanced education and its intention is to maximise the potential of all. The National Curriculum is followed in all subject areas and Bryn Elian is particularly proud of the expertise, experience and commitment of its teaching staff.

Post 16

Ysgol Bryn Elian's Sixth Form offers you a purposeful and caring environment, in which you will be supported and guided in order that you achieve the very best that you can. We rightly pride ourselves on the high quality of teaching and personal mentoring that, along with your own committment and enthusiasm, will help you realise your ambitions.

Read more about our Sixth Form

Key Stage 3

At Key Stage 3 all pupils study English, Mathematics, Science, Welsh, Spanish/French/German, Geography, History, Religious Education, Technology, P.E./Games, Art, Information Technology, Music, Personal and Social Education. Literacy skills are used as a guide to setting pupils for lessons.

At the end of the Key Stage, pupils will reassessed in National Curriculum Subjects. We have increased flexibility with the abolition of tests at the end of Key Stage 3, to allow some learners to begin their Key Stage 4 courses early so that their learning needs are met and aptitudes recognised.

All students are required to take National Literacy and Numeracy Tests at the end of Years 7, 8 and 9. Results are reported to parents.

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4 pupils are required to study English, Mathematics, Science, Welsh, the Welsh Baccalaureate, Religious Education, Information Technology, P.E. /Games and PSHCE but are then given a choice of optional subjects including History, Geography, Technology, At , Music, Drama, GCSE and BTEC Business Studies and a number of vocational courses in cooperation with other local institutions. Literacy skills are used as a guide to setting pupils for lessons.

Option choices are regularly reviewed as the school seeks to provide a curriculum which is varied and flexible enough to address the needs of all pupils. Emphasis is place throughout the curriculum on the acquisition of key skills, which are seen as the real key to unlocking potential.